Home Show reviews-Brighton Now Showing-The History Boys

Now Showing-The History Boys



The History Boys returns to Theatre Royal Brighton for a limited run from Monday 9 – Saturday 14 February.

Thu & Sat mats 2.30pm   Eves 7.45pm

Winner of over 30 major awards including the Olivier and Tony Awards for Best New Play, The History Boys is the story of a group of bright, funny and unruly sixth formers in pursuit of sex, sport and a place at university. Their maverick English teacher is at odds with the young and shrewd supply teacher, whilst their headmaster is obsessed with results and league tables. Staffroom rivalry and the anarchy of adolescence overflow, provoking insistent questions about history and how you teach it. Their A Levels may be over, but their true education is only just beginning.


The History Boys is a hilariously funny and exceptionally moving play about the true purpose of education.


The History Boys premiered at the National Theatre in 2004 directed by Nicholas Hytner and helped launch the careers of many of its original cast members including James Corden and Dominic Cooper. The play was one of the National’s biggest ever hits and went on to open on Broadway in 2006, with a film adaptation featuring the original stage cast released later that year.


Alan Bennett is one of the UK’s most celebrated playwrights and authors, and in a career that spans five decades has created many acclaimed works for theatre, television and film. His work for the stage includes People, Hymn and Cocktail Sticks, The Habit of Art, Talking Heads, The Madness of George III and Kafka’s Dick. Prior to his work as a playwright, Bennett enjoyed enormous success as a co-writer and performer of Beyond the Fringe, a comedy stage revue which played in the West End and on Broadway in the 1960s. At the 2005 Olivier Awards Bennett was awarded the Society Special Award for his contribution to theatre.


Do not miss the chance to see this brand new production of a comic masterpiece when it visits Theatre Royal Brighton for a week long run.



0844 871 7650*

(bkg fees apply)





Richard Hope | Hector

Theatre includes: King Lear (Almeida Theatre),  Dirty Dancing (Aldwych Theatre), When the Rain Stops Falling (Almeida Theatre), Noises Off (Ambassadors Theatre), Donkey’s Years (UK Tour), Cymbeline (The Globe), Hard Fruit (Royal Court) and War and Peace, Pravda, Hamlet and The Government Inspector (all National Theatre). Television includes: Doctor Who (BBC), Midsomer Murders (ITV), New Tricks (BBC), Tipping the Velvet (BBC) and Brideshead Revisited (Granada).


Kedar Williams-Stirling | Dakin

Kedar is know to television audiences as series regular Tom Okinawe in Wolfblood (BBC). Other television includes Doctors (BBC) and Silent Witness (BBC). Theatre includes: Welcome to Thebes (National Theatre) and Big White Fog (Almeida Theatre).


Steven Roberts | Posner

Steven is known to television audiences as George Smith in Hollyoaks (Channel 4), a role he played for 3 years. Credits whilst training include: Arcadia and Measure for Measure (Arts Educational).


Christopher Ettridge | Headmaster

Theatre includes: Twelve Angry Men (Garrick Theatre), Middlemarch (Orange Tree), To Kill a Mockingbird (Regent’s Park), Death of a Salesman (West Yorkshire Playhouse), Talking To Terrorists (Royal Court), Democracy, (National Theatre) and Henry VI and Richard III (Royal Shakespeare Company). Television includes: Mr Selfridge, EastEnders and Goodnight Sweetheart (6 series).


Mark Field | Irwin

Theatre includes: I Have Never (Theatre Royal Stratford East), The Conquest of the South Pole (Arcola Theatre), The Critic (Chichester Festival Theatre), The Water’s Edge (Arcola Theatre), The Grapes of Wrath (Chichester Festival Theatre) and An Inspector Calls (National Theatre). Film includes: Brideshead Revisited.


Susan Twist | Mrs. Lintott

Theatre includes: Hobson’s Choice (Octagon Theatre), The Market (West Yorkshire Playhouse), Ballroom Blitz (Hull Truck), Love on the Dole (Octagon Theatre) and Everybody Loves a Winner (Manchester Royal Exchange). Television includes: Scott & Bailey (ITV), Being Eileen (BBC), In the Flesh (BBC), Doctors (BBC) and The Royal (Yorkshire Television).


Sid Sagar | Akthar

Theatre includes: True Brits (High Tide/Bush Theatre), Eternal Love (English Touring Theatre) and The Taming of the Shrew (The Globe). Television Includes: The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses (BBC) and The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies (ITV).


Matthew Durkan | Crowther

Theatre includes: The Cherry Orchard (New Wimbledon Studio), Painted Faces (The Vault Festival), and Pot Noodles and Knickers (Etcetera Theatre).


Patrick McNamee | Lockwood

Credits whilst training include: Sweeney Todd, A Few Good Men and A Midsummer Night’s Dream (LAMDA).


David Young | Rudge

The History Boys marks David’s professional debut. Credits whilst training include: Attempts on Her Life, The School of Night and The Revenger’s Tragedy (LAMDA).


Alex Hope | Scripps

Theatre includes: First Episode (Primavera Productions). Credits whilst training include You Can’t Take It With You, Spring Awakening and Epsom Downs (Royal Welsh College).


Joshua Mayes Cooper | Timms

Theatre includes: Operation Crucible (Finborough Theatre), Chapel Street (UK Tour), and Seven (Invertigo). Television includes: Doctors (BBC), Silk (BBC) and Holby City (BBC).


Chris Barritt | TV Director

Theatre includes: Maurice’s Jubilee (UK Tour), Basket Case (Chichester Festival Theatre), A Peaceful Resolution (Old Red Lion Theatre), The Misanthrope (Comedy Theatre), The Birthday Party (Duchess Theatre) and She Stoops to Conquer (National Theatre). Television includes: Emmerdale (Yorkshire Television).


Melody Brown | Fiona

Theatre includes: Bubbles (Watermill Theatre), The First Chinese Emperor (Yellow Earth), Fungus the Bogeyman (Pilot Theatre Company) and The Tempest (Marlow Theatre, Canterbury). Television includes: EastEnders (BBC).

Previous articleSuspicious Brits Snoop On Partner’s Phone-says survey



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.